Scars of our Mothers’ Dreams

Scars Of Our Mothers’ Dreams

Scars Of Our Mothers ‘Dreams est un documentaire qui offre un aperçu unique et intime des complexités de la migration parentale à travers la perception des enfants laissés au pays natal.

Des années après sa lutte personnelle pour vaincre le sentiment d’abandon à l’enfance, la réalisatrice Meschida Philip est retournée à Grenade à la recherche d’autres expériences similaires pour découvrir comment leurs vies ont été touchées après la migration de leurs parents.

Quand : Samedi 28 _ 14h15

PETIT MOT DE LA RÉALISATRICE

Meschida Philip est une cinéaste grenadienne-américaine. Son travail actuel de réalisatrice comprend un court documentaire sur la séparation des parents et des enfants à la suite de la migration. Elle détient une maîtrise des Beaux-Arts (MFA) du City College de New York. Elle travaille en tant que pigiste auprès de différentes maisons de production, y compris CaFA, pour aider à sécuriser et promouvoir les films caribéens à travers la diaspora caribéenne.

Meschida est une activiste qui s’intéresse principalement aux questions sociales affectant les familles et les communautés des Caraïbes, y compris l’immigration, l’éducation, les droits des enfants / femmes et les enfants / la traite des êtres humains. Armée de son diplôme et d’un talent pour la narration, elle utilise le cinéma et la photographie comme moyen de faire la lumière sur ces problèmes.

COURT MÉTRAGE

CRÉDIT / SPÉCIFICATIONS

USA

Fiction

 11 minutes 18 secondes

Productrice : Meschida Philip, Dominique Remy
Réalisatrice : Meschida Philip
Scénariste : Meschida Philip
Casting : Anthony D. Bridgeman, Natasha LaMothe, Melissa Jeremiah
X

Scars Of our Mothers’ Dreams

Scars Of our Mothers’ Dreams

Scars Of Our Mothers’ Dreams is a short documentary that offers a unique, intimate glimpse into the complexities of parental migration through the lenses of children left behind.

Years after her own personal struggle to overcome the feeling of childhood abandonment, filmmaker Meschida Philip returned to Grenada in search of others with similar childhood experiences, to find out how their lives were impacted after their parents migrated.

When : Saturday 27th _ 2.15 pm

Buy tickets for Le MUP Fest

A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Meschida Philip is a Grenadian/American filmmaker. Her current directorial work includes a short documentary on parent-child separation as a consequence of migration entitled “Scars of our Mothers’ Dreams.” She has her Masters of Fine Arts (MFA) in film degree from The City College of New York with a concentration on Documentary Filmmaking. She freelances with different production house including CaFA as a program liaison assisting with securing and promoting Caribbean Films throughout the Caribbean Diaspora.

Meschida is an activist that is primarily interested in social issues affecting Caribbean families and communities, including immigration, education, children/women’s rights and children/human trafficking. Armed with her degree and a knack for storytelling, she uses film and photography as her medium to give light to those issues.

SHORT FILM

CREDIT / SPECIFICATIONS

Suisse

Fiction

 11 minutes 18 seconds

Producer : Meschida Philip, Dominique Remy
Director : Meschida Philip
Writer : Meschida Philip
Key Cast : Anthony D. Bridgeman, Natasha LaMothe, Melissa Jeremiah