Sugar

Sugar

Une jeune Jamaïcaine de condition modeste travaille dans un hôtel jamaïcain, où elle est témoin de la richesse des touristes au quotidien. En tant que soutien de famille de facto pour sa très grande famille, elle fait face à une crise de conscience lorsqu’un couple de touristes, semble être la réponse à sa situation financière.

Quand : Samedi 28 _ 20h20

PETIT MOT DU RÉALISATEUR

Soleil Michelle Serieux, cinéaste et actrice locale de Sainte-Lucie et de la Jamaïque, travaille dans la fiction, la non-fiction et les nouveaux médias. Son travail a été soutenu par le Sundance Institute, le Tribeca Film Institute, Chicken and Eggs Pictures, Women Make Movies, la Fondation Alter-Cine, les Ateliers médias du Maine et un atelier de développement documentaire du Festival du Film de Trinité-et-Tobago. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études cinématographiques de l’université de Columbia avec distinction en nouveaux médias et d’un baccalauréat avec mention très bien en médias et communication, études dramatiques et culturelles de l’Université des Antilles.

SUGAR, première collaboration avec l’écrivaine Jamaïcaine Sharon Leach, a remporté l’initiative inaugurale JAFTA PROPELLA. Elle est la cinéaste 2018 en résidence à l’Université des Antilles Mona par le biais de son Département de Littérature en anglais, et aussi Maître de conférences d’Histoires Audiovisuelles dans le Département d’Histoire de l’UWI Mona.

COURT MÉTRAGE

CRÉDIT / SPÉCIFICATIONS

Jamaïque

Fiction

 19 minutes

Productrice : Sarah Manley
Réalisatrice : Michelle Serieux
Coordinateur de production : Darin Tennent
DOP : Gareth Cobran
Cast : Shak-Quera South, Jean-Paul Menou, Sharee McDonald-Russell, Maylynne Lowe, Carol Lawes, Shantol Jackson, Karen Harriot, Shanique Brown
X

Sugar

Sugar

“SUGAR” – A young black Jamaican girl from the underclass and on the brink of womanhood, works at a Jamaican resort where she witnesses tourists’ affluence on a daily basis. As the de facto breadwinner for her very large family, she faces a crisis of conscience, when a tourist couple seems to be the answer to her financial predicament.

When : Friday 27th _ 8:20 pm

Buy tickets for Le MUP Fest

A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Soleil Michelle Serieux, is a filmmaker and actress local to St Lucia and Jamaica, working in fiction, non-fiction and new media. Her work has been supported by the Sundance Institute, Tribeca Film Institute, Chicken and Egg Pictures, Women Make Movies, The Alter-Cine Foundation, Maine Media Workshops and a Trinidad and Tobago Film Festival documentary development workshop. She holds a MA in Film + Cinema Studies from Columbia University with Honours in New Media and a BA with First Class Honours in Media and Communication, Drama and Cultural Studies from the University of the West Indies.

SUGAR, a first time collaboration with Jamaican writer Sharon Leach, was a winner of the inaugural JAFTA PROPELLA initiative. She is the 2018 Filmmaker in Residence at the University of the West Indies Mona through its Department of Literatures in English, and also Lecturer of  Audio Visual Histories in the UWI Mona Department of History.

SHORT FILM

CREDIT / SPECIFICATIONS

Jamaica

Drama

 19 minutes

Producer : Sarah Manley
Director : Michelle Serieux
Cinematography : Gareth Cobran
Production coordinator : Darin Tennent
Cast : Shak-Quera South, Jean-Paul Menou, Sharee McDonald-Russell, Maylynne Lowe, Carol Lawes, Shantol Jackson, Karen Harriot, Shanique Brown